Reforestation project in the Egyptian Sahara

What is it about

The Sahara covers a huge area of ​​9.1 million square kilometers of desert. What a huge potential for planting trees, creating new habitats and also producing food in agroforestry systems! With the highest possible biodiversity, we want to create stable ecosystems and bind CO2 from the atmosphere.

  • First we want to reforest 10 km2 desert. Further areas are to follow.
  • The first location is near Cairo (irrigation with pre-treated municipal sewage)
  • Later, areas on the Mediterranean and the Red Sea are also to be afforested (irrigation using desalinated seawater).
  • The reforestation projects and the planting of agroforestry systems are being carried out on site together with our partner, Foresight for Development and Innovation AG and its president, the forest scientist El Kateb and the forest experts in Egypt under the direction of Prof. Dr. Hammad performed.
  • The basic scientific research on the sustainable reforestation of desert areas was carried out in a pilot project mainly in the years 2012-2016 by a team of German-Egyptian forest scientists led by the forest scientist El Kateb. The following image and video material is based on these test plantings.
  • The knowledge gained from the test plantings is now to be applied across a wide area and large desert areas to be reforested and also used as agroforestry.

From the desert to species-rich forest biotopes

pastedGraphic_2.png

pastedGraphic_1.png

pastedGraphic_3.png

Planting with an irrigation system

 

pastedGraphic_5.png  pastedGraphic_6.png

A few weeks after planting.

Aufforstungsprojekt in der ägyptischen Sahara

Worum es geht

Die Sahara umfasst eine riesige Fläche von 9,1 Millionen Quadratkilometer Wüste. Was für ein riesiges Potential, um Bäume zu pflanzen, neue Lebensräume zu schaffen und in Agroforstsystemen auch Lebensmittel zu produzieren! Mit einer möglichst hohen Biodiversität wollen wir stabile Ökosysteme schaffen und CO2 aus der Atmosphäre binden.

  • Zunächst wollen wir 10 km2 Wüste aufforsten. Weiter Flächen sollen folgen.
  • Der erste Standort liegt in der Nähe von Kairo (Bewässerung mit vorgereinigten Siedlungsabwässern)
  • Später sollen auch Flächen am Mittelmeer und am Roten Meer aufgeforstet werden (Bewässerung über entsalztes Meerwasser).
  • Die Aufforstungsprojekte sowie die Pflanzung von Agroforstsystemen werden vor Ort gemeinsam mit unserem Partner der Foresight for Development and Innovation AG und ihrem Präsidenten, dem Forstwissenschaftler El Kateb und den Forstexperten in Ägypten unter der Leitung von Prof. Dr. Hammad durchgeführt.
  • Die wissenschaftliche Grundlagenforschung zur nachhaltigen Aufforstung von Wüstengebieten wurde in einem Pilotprojekt hauptsächlich in den Jahren 2012-2016 von einem Team von deutsch-ägyptischen Forstwissenschaftlern unter der Leitung von dem Forstwissenschaftler El Kateb durchgeführt. Das folgende Bild- und Videomaterial basiert auf diesen Versuchspflanzungen.
  • Die aus den Versuchspflanzungen gewonnenen Erkenntnisse gilt es jetzt in der breiten Fläche anzuwenden und große Wüstengebiete aufzuforsten und auch als Agroforst zu nutzen.

Von der Wüste zu artenreichen Waldbiotopen

pastedGraphic_2.png

pastedGraphic_1.png

pastedGraphic_3.png

Pflanzung mit Bewässerungssystem

 

pastedGraphic_5.png  pastedGraphic_6.png

Wenige Wochen nach der Pflanzung.